Speaking of Shires …

feet-england-shire.jpg

shire-2.jpg

  

westernritt-500.jpg 

 shire-team.jpg

  English Grey Shire at Ostler Carriage Company

england-grey-shire-500.jpg 

 show_shire_horse_340x255.jpg 

aberystwyth-shor-2007-shires.jpg

shirehorses081206-500.jpg

 

Earlier Post Link:    Shire Horses Used For Stress Relief

Earlier Post  Link:   Tina Tallest Horse ?

Earlier Post Link:   Tenn. Horse Could Be World’s Tallest

Earlier Post Link: She’s A Proper Lady, Alright

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://simplymarvelous.wordpress.com/2007/08/02/speaking-of-shires/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m sure glad I don’t have to keep those feathers clean. But they are so beautiful when they are all fluffed up and clean.

  2. Hi Rising Rainbow …
    Can you imagine the work that would be. Fantastic horses,for sure! I keep thinking I “need” a draft horse of some kind.

  3. They are so beautiful! I would love to have one, but risingrainbow is right about keeping the feathers clean.

    I love the picture with the little boy and the horse nuzzling his hair. Awwwwww….

  4. I just came across your site last night. I’m very impressed with it. The photos and articles are excellent.
    I’m a real draft horse enthusiast. If you ever feel like a draft horse visit, please don’t hesitate to contact me – I’d really enjoy it.
    I put a link to your site on the Links page of the Draft Horse section of my website – I think there are a lot of people who would enjoy it. Hope that you don’t mind.

  5. Hello Clippityclop,
    Thanks for your kind words. Always glad to meet a draft horse enthusiast. I would love to see your draft horses.

    Thank you for saving my link.

    I viewed your website. Enjoyed it very much. I hope lots of people stop by and take a look. It is all so interesting!

    http://www.clippityclop.ca/index.html

  6. My mind can’t wrap itself around draft horses. I always have to stare — and stare — and stare. Those can’t be horses — they must be elephants. I love to go to draft horse shows and stare at them as if they were aliens from another planet. Gorgeous, useful aliens.

    Your photos are spectacular. Isn’t it funny how we horse people look at them? I see the white feathers and immediately think the same as Rising Rainbow. I see the feet and think about my poor farrier dealing with those. And then I look at the bulk and look at my poor feed room and am so glad I don’t have to feed them. And yet, who doesn’t want one? Especially the dappled one nuzzling the little boy? I think if I had one I’d spend all day staring, trying to make the size compute. But it never will. So I’ll keep looking and marveling.

  7. Hi Anne,
    So right … can’t stop looking at those magnificent horses.

    I keep thinking that there must be room around here for at least one. Afraid the truth is I will be just be standing around looking at them in admiration.

  8. These horses are very beautiful. They are the most magnificient things I have ever seen. It is probably a lot of work to keep up with because I know the two horses I take care of and ride aren’t too easy to clean after.

  9. Hello there.

    We had heard from a friend that you had a photo of a couple of our Grey Shires on your site & sure enough there they are ( under the heading English Shires )

    We are delighted that you have used them – any publicity of this wonderful breed of horses is good publicity !!

    We have recently added a lot of new photos onto our website – http://www.theostler.com – of some of our Shires playing in the field.

    Please do have a look & as always please feel free to use any that you like.

    If we can be of any further help please feel free to call – there is always someone available on 01245 461590.

    Claire
    ~~~
    Hello Claire,
    Thank you for contacting me and giving your website. So glad to know more about your beautiful Grey Shires, as well as the other magnificent horses you have. I also appreciate your permission to use the info on your site.
    Thank you,
    Marvel

  10. I am just beginning my showing career with these magnificent horses. We have 5 of them. I am having trouble trying to make the standards/flights for the manes. Would you be able to give me some ideas or send me some pictures or diagrams and instructions. Really need help with these. Thanx

    ~~~
    Hello Nicole,
    Perhaps you might contact “Jenson’s American Shires” at http://www.jensonshires.com/. They may be able to advise you.

    Also let’s hope someone who shows Shires will see your request and will reply with the information you’d like to have.

  11. I Love Shire’s!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. Jette fin sida 😀 och fina hästar 😀 😀

  13. wow guys u have some really neat pictures! the shire is a beautiful large animal, and it seems that u are treating the ones u have with good care

  14. Nydelig shire
    i love shire

  15. lé shire son mé chevo préféré !!
    donc j’adore lé image !

    lé image son trè bel !!!

  16. I usually don’t usually post on many another Blogs, still I just has to say thank you… keep up the amazing work. Ok regrettably its time to get to school.

  17. These are an amazing breed of horse. I have always had horses but always wanted a draft horse. I was looking up draft horses and saw a picture of a Shire and fell in love. They are huge but are so pretty. The picture of the little boy was so cute.


Leave a Reply

