The Art of Designing Horses

bilde.jpg

Terri Garofalo  created “Snapshot” for this year’s “Horses, Saratoga Style” event in Saratoga Springs.

 ~~~

 The Art of Designing Horses ~ Equine-Inspired Creations Line Streets of Saratoga Springs, New York

~~~

Taking care of a horse requires money and time. Terri Garofalo of Poughquag knows a horse that doesn’t require feeding or grooming, yet maintains a beautiful coat and never complains. She created it.

“From the time I was a little kid, I gravitated towards horses,” said Garofalo, two-time artist for “Horses, Saratoga Style” in Saratoga Springs. “I have a natural communication with them.”

“Horses, Saratoga Style” began in 2002 with 24 fiberglass horses designed by local artists. The works were displayed along the streets of the resort city north of Albany.

Joel Reed, executive director of the Saratoga County Arts Council, said a project that created fiberglass horses was an “obvious choice” for Saratoga.

For one thing, the city boasts historic Saratoga Race Course, the oldest horse racing facility in the country. 

“Horse breeding and horse racing are a big part of the Hudson Valley,” Reed said. “We’ve been working on the horse display since August. We have 34 horses and 37 artists this year … each horse has a sponsor.

Garofalo was inspired by horses as far back as she can remember.

“It’s hard to say how I began to follow art,” she said. “I was able to draw well because I wanted to draw a horse picture well, which is ironic.

She worked through the most challenging elements of the project to get a final product, aptly titled “Snapshot.”

Garofalo said her childhood contributed to her love for art and horses.

“I grew up on a farm until I was 7,” Garofalo said. “I understood cows and cats, but then I had to go to kindergarten and understand humans.

I’ve always been creative and made my own toys because if I wanted something different, I’d have to make it myself. Creativity for me extends into everything I do.”

Original Story: Poughkeepsie Journal.com

Photo: Robert W. Garofalo

Published in: on June 22, 2007 at 9:02 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://simplymarvelous.wordpress.com/2007/06/22/the-art-of-designing-horses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Impressive all together like that.

  2. I wish there was a place on the web that showed all of the horses together and individually.

    I made the fiberglass horses for this project back in Nebraska and I love to see what the artists have done to them to make each one so beautiful and unique.

    When I deliver them to Saratoga they are primed a plain white…. the artist do a tremendous job in turning them into a colorful canvas of art!

    Great Job!!!
    Patrick

    http://publicartprojectsofamerica.com/

    Hello Patrick,
    Thank you for your message and the interesting information. I visited your website and am amazed and impressed by the procedure of your work and the variety. Will contact you via email.

  3. Hello,
    I am looking for a place to buy a fiberglass horse in the Albany, Troy, Saratoga area. I lost my son in an accident in April 2011. He loved horses, & Saratoga. One of the last trips he ever took was to Saratoga. I see where they display them in Saratoga but cant find a place where they sell them. Any help you could give would be greatly appreciated. My son’s Name is Matt and we miss him and would like to honor his love of horses by displaying one in our yard.Thank you
    Kathleen Canfield


Leave a Reply

