If only …

Two words seem to pass through my mind far too many times during the day. I try to prevent them, but not always successfully.

These are the same two words I hear from friends … and even in the conversations of complete strangers.

Two words that have the power to darken the view of the past, present and future.

The two profound words … “if only”.

If only I had this, if only I had that, if only I could, if only I didn’t have to … if only I had, if only I hadn’t.

These two words take away the now, put conditions on the future and pull one into a past that cannot be changed.

They block present pleasures, deprive hopes for the future and prevent the enjoyment of past memories.

“If only” … has never changed anything.

I realize that the only escape from these powerful words is to think of the now, to appreciate the present, to plan the future and to accept the past. A task easier said, than done.

There is a quote that offers a wonderful escape to the emotions that come with the words ”if only”.

It says: Fill your life with things you love.

Nothing else matters. I’m going to try it. I’ll let you know.

Published in: on January 24, 2007 at 5:02 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://simplymarvelous.wordpress.com/2007/01/24/if-only/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Just do it for you..
    Love yourself for everybody wants to be loved !

    Treat yourself for everybody wants to be treated !

    Forgive yourself for everybody wants to be forgiven !

    Just do it for yourself for others dont have time for you !

    If you cant love yourself, you cant love others !!

    If you cant forgive yourself, you cant forgive others !!

    If you cant do it for yourself, no body will do it for you !!

    Just do it for yourself..


Leave a Reply

