Budweiser Clydesdale Commercials: Remembering Favorites – 1

Original Budweiser Commercial

First aired in 1967, this commercial was the first featuring the Budweiser Clydesdales — and it is still one of the best. The jingle has stayed in my head for decades: “Here comes the King, here comes the Big Number One.”

The commercial has played for fans at Busch Stadium in St. Louis, who after several Buds, clap like puppets in time with the song.

The Extra Point

“Nah, they usually go for two.” This 1996 spot was Bud’s first Super Bowl commercial featuring the Clydesdales, and remains the most memorable.

It’s featured on many lists of the best Super Bowl commercials ever made.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://simplymarvelous.wordpress.com/2012/12/07/budweiser-clydesdale-commercials-remembering-favorites-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love all the Budweiser commercials. Love the horses and the thought behind making them. There was one right after 911 that was aired very briefly but it was a very touching tribute.

  2. The first commercial’s jingle runs through my mind like a warm memory. The second commercial just brings such a showing of the magnificence and the power of these beautiful animals, with a bit of humor and unknown talent. :-)

    I remember the commercial made after 9/11. I ended up tearing up a box of Kleenex. You see, I was in New York that fateful day on a layover to Dublin,Ireland to visit my father’s relatives (and place of my birth). I was only a few blocks from the WTC and ended up administering first-aid to those I could help. I lost two good men from my Army unit that day. Were it not for the outside of my horses, I don’t think I would have healed very well( Winston Churchill’s saying about horses is so very true!)

    Here’s to horses and our love for them. *raises glass* :-)

  3. Christmas plain and simple is not the same without the Budweiser Clydedales. I realize I’m in the age bracket that you no longer go after. But it was December 27 before I saw the first commercial reminding me of special holiday moments, of family, warmth, music and togetherness. Please for the future, get your commercial out there more. Budweiser for many is more than just beer. It’s about home!

    David Coon


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

