Horse and Carriage Show Displays Old Time Elegance

1coach-horn-500.jpg

Once each year, during the second week in August, the picturesque Pittsford, New York countryside comes alive with the magic and romance of an earlier era – a time when the Horse and Carriage reflected the quality of life and influenced the pace and scope of occupational and social activities.

2-winningunicornhitch-500.jpg
3friesianfour-500.jpg

It was a time when the Horse and Carriage were elevated from a simple means of personal conveyance to a portrait of their owner – a social commentary as to profession, personal taste, and character.

4-fourinhand-500.jpg

5unicornhitch-500.jpg

It was a time when the Horse and Carriage were elevated from a simple means of personal conveyance to a portrait of their owner – a social commentary as to profession, personal taste, and character.

6team-500.jpg

It was the last decade of the 19th century.

7pleasureponywinner-500.jpg

In an attempt to recapture the essence and spirit of the 1890’s, the Pittsford Carriage Association annually hosts The Walnut Hill Carriage Driving Competition.

8-pittsford-carriage-hors-500.jpg

9-hackney-team-500.jpg

This international celebration of the art and sport of traditional driving in held in a 19th century country fair setting on the commodious grounds of Walnut Hill Farm in Pittsford, New York.

10-walnut-hill-new-york.jpg

11victorylap.jpg

This living showcase of Americana presents a unique marriage in modern day equine sport – that of combining the pageantry and beauty of exquisitely turned out equipages with the excitement of demanding competition.

12-black-pair-500.jpg

13-umbrellabuggy-500.jpg

The comprehensive five day schedule of classes offers spectators the opportunity to view a wide variety of 19th century carriages exhibited by over 250 competitors from some 20 states, Canada, and Europe. This year included an exhibitor from Australia!

 

Walnut Hill Farm

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://simplymarvelous.wordpress.com/2007/08/21/horse-and-carriage-show-displays-old-time-elegance/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Elegant is an apt description of the horses and carriages.

    There are times I have wished I were living in an era when that kind of travel was common.

  2. Hi Jolynna,
    Your thoughts are exactly like mine. I’m living in the wrong era.

    However, I cannot make up my mind if I want to have a couple beautiful black Percherons working my farm, or a gorgeous black Tennessee Walker so I can check on my plantation … or do I want to wear fancy hats and drive a beautiful pony into town.

    All these decisions. However, my dear old grandmother said that one must always have a “matched pair”.

    Therefore, I’ve followed that rule and for 25 years have had a black “matched pair” … same size, same breed, and same color.

    At least I’ve been able to make one decision in my life about horses.

  3. The horse drawn carriages are beautiful, that’s for sure but I don’t know if I could give up my microwave to go back to that. lol

  4. Risingrainbow,
    Oh, yes .. the microwave. There is always something to bring us back to reality. But aren’t they just grand!

  5. I also sometimes feel as though I am in the wrong era as I cannot stand modern buildings but love period buildings, dislike our current ugly motorways and roads and would love to go back to dirt roads and cobbles and I would obviously much rather have beautiful horses and carriages on the road than ugly, dirty cars! And I am only 17 lol. Beautiful pictures, I especially love the palominos.

  6. I love the friesians! I’ve always wanted one. they are the most elegant and graceful horses, in my opinion. I would love to go and live in that era to own such a horse as them.

  7. Yep, its time to go back to this, BEAT GAS PRICES!

  8. Copyright Request.

    I would be grateful for your permission to include a copy on my not-for-profit educational CD of the first photograph above showing the coach horn being played.

    If you agree, on-screen credit will be given with a link to your web page. I will be pleased to send more details direct if you let me have an Email address.

    Hoping that you will agree to joun this educational venture.

    David Wornham.

  9. I agree Simply Marvelous, Iam a 3rd generation Master Saddle/Harness Maker (English) in Belgium.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

